Star Wars – The Rise of Skywalker

The final movie in the latest saga of the Star Wars franchise, The Rise of Skywalker, was by all means well done. The CGI was incredible and the story kept me engaged. Seeing this film with a group of guys allowed me to see it from a true fan’s point of view.

I’m not going to sit here and say overarching bad things about Star Wars. What I will do instead is say my 2 cents.

My main issue: the overhype. They have good reason to, I mean it’s STAR WARS. People still wait outside the theater for days to get good seats. Although I did not camp (thank god for reserved seating am I right?!), I thought Star Wars was good but I did have some issues that I want to put out there.

That kiss scene… what were they thinking? I get the reason: the sexual tension between these 2 characters is undeniable. They have been building it on the DL for 2 movies, so it didn’t surprise me that it happened. What surprised me was WHEN it happened during the film. It was in the last few minutes. It felt more like an afterthought than a carefully planned scene, which it very well could have been.

On the opposite side, the CGI for this film was very well done. I felt that JJ had enough major ideas (honestly too much, we could have had 2 films here) that CGI helped bring to life in a way that was not only impressive but simple as well. They focused more on colors and textures of backgrounds and characters, bringing life into a beloved story.

Since I saw this movie with a group of guys, I asked them what they thought. My boyfriend in particular said, “It was clear throughout this episode that JJ had enough ideas for two movies and tried to cram it all into this one while giving a wink and a smile as he undid Last Jedi. And frankly they should have let him have two because when this one worked, it really worked. The most fun I’ve had at a star wars movie in a long while. Pofinn shippers will be forever disappointed. Also to answer everyone’s obvious question: 5,6,4,3,R,9,1,7,8,S,2”

Although I disagree with his ranking in general, but he is right, this movie really could have been easily split. I do feel though that JJ did a great job of putting it all together and giving everyone the ending that Skywalker needed and quite frankly deserved.

Before I saw the film, a friend of mine said to me that this film satisfied a need for an end. I couldn’t agree more. This film, in many respects, celebrated the end to a new saga in the Star Wars franchise. But is it the end? I don’t think so. They left it open more or less to allow a new story to occur if they so choose.

It is Disney after all.

 

Featured Image: ‘Star Wars The Rise Of Skywalker’ banner WALT DISNEY


Leave a comment