Recent Films in Review

I have seen a few movies over the last few weeks since I have been home, and below is my review of some of them.

American Hustle- 2 Stars

Every year for Christmas Day, my family goes to see movies and eat chinese food at my Grandparent’s house, like most other Jews do. I wanted to see American Hustle because I thought of all the action that should come with it. It was not action packed at all, more like a drama with a few comedic reliefs to break the silence. All the hype put on this film was not putting it to where it needed to be. The theatre was packed, as it should have been, but the movie fell short, in my opinion to its expectations. At least 20 people left mid-way into the film, and I wouldn’t blame them. The film was only interesting at some points of the film, and was quite boring and felt that much longer. I was expecting all the action and scandals of that time period but no such luck I’m afraid. I give this film 2 stars for its acting and costumes, otherwise not something worth seeing in theaters. 

 

Frozen- 4 stars

I am actually not the biggest fan of animated features as some would think, but all my friends saw this one and I caved and saw it. I was actually pleasantly surprised at what Disney put together. The last few movies about female characters from Disney have shed a certain light about the female character. One of the most memorable parts was when the older sister said to the younger sister, “You can’t marry someone you just met,” which is what many other Disney films have not portrayed before. I definitely think that Disney is on the right track with this film. A must see for the family.

 

The Hobbit- The Desolation of Smaug- 5 stars

I absolutely loved loved LOVED this film. I was not a fan of sci-fi style films until I saw the first Hobbit film, and I was very happy with this one too. It kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. If you didn’t see it theaters this time, find the time to get it online or on DVD. If you never saw the first one, find it, and you will be very happy with it.

 

Those are all the films I saw so far this break. I hope you all have a great rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

